They Can’t Teach You This in a Classroom

By Matt Krause

I’ll never forget hearing that quote from Jon Laaser, the radio play-by-play voice of the Richmond Flying Squirrels Minor League Baseball team. As someone who aspires to a career in play-by-play, I knew that I had to get hands-on experience somehow. After all, play-by-play sports broadcasting isn’t a big enough field to merit an academic major.

Enter the internship program.

Elon University’s School of Communications is second to none when it comes to preparing students for real world success. The thorough, well-rounded Communications education gives both foundational knowledge and practical skills, but it is the internship program that has put me over the top with preparation for the future.

I spent my summer doing exactly what I hope to do in the real world: broadcast play-by-play of real professional baseball games. I worked for the Burlington Royals, the rookie league affiliate of the 2014 American League champion Kansas City Royals. I wasn’t a glorified shadow of a veteran broadcaster, I was the guy for the B-Royals. I handled all nine innings of play-by-play to an average audience of over 100 listeners. I provided game updates through social media and by writing a full recap for the team website.

If you looked around Minor League Baseball staff directories, you might notice that such a position (commonly known as “Director of Broadcasting and Media Relations”) is a full-time gig at the higher levels. I was the youngest lead play-by-play broadcaster in all of professional baseball this past summer. As a result, I will graduate and enter the “real world” with actual experience in the field, a valuable resume tool.

All this is thanks to the internship program. The internship program is the perfect pairing for the top-notch Elon education received in and around McEwen building.

After all, there are some things that they can’t teach you in a classroom.

Leave a Reply

